Brazilian Association of Aesthetics (ABRE)


The Brazilian Association of Aesthetics (ABRE), founded for the first time in 1994, in Rio de Janeiro, and re-grounded in 2006 in Belo Horizonte, in cooperation with the Graduate Studies Program of Philosophy and the Graduate Studies Program of Arts of the Federal University of Minas Gerais (UFMG), is willing to organize the 22nd ICA In Belo Horizonte, State of Minas Gerais, Brazil. The Philosophy Department of the UFMG has a long tradition in studies and actions in Aesthetics (dating from 1969 with the creation of its “Laboratory of Aesthetics”) and since 1993 it has been involved in the organization of biannual large conferences on this matter, which attracts researchers and students from many countries and regions around the world.

The last one, “Arts of the body, bodies of art” was held last October in the baroque town Ouro Preto — near Belo Horizonte — and was organized by ABRE in cooperation with the Federal University of Ouro Preto and the Federal University of Minas Gerais. In this occasion, over two hundred papers and lectures were presented by researchers and graduate students coming from all regions from Brazil and from abroad as well. Both institutions — ABRE and UFMG — are going to be represented in the organizing committee of 22nd IAA Congress. The organization of the congress is going to rely on the excellent infrastructure of the UFMG in issues like classrooms and amphitheaters, technology of information and communication, as well as secretaries to help in the tasks of registration and to offer support to the participants of the conference. There is also a concrete possibility of receiving financial help from federal agencies of support to research (CNPq — National Council of Scientific and Technological Development) and higher education (CAPES — Coordination of Development of Researchers in Higher Education).


Organizing Committee

Rodrigo Duarte – Federal University of Minas Gerais (Chair)
Rizzia Rocha – Federal University of Minas Gerais
Fernanda Proença – Federal University of Minas Gerais
Miguel Gally – University of Brasilia
Juliana Pereira – Federal University of Minas Gerais
Anna Luiza Coli – State University of Londrina/ Federal University of Minas Gerais


Scientific Board

Curtis Carter (Marquette University, US)
Gao Jianping (Shenzhen University, China)
Joosik Min (Yeungnam University, South Korea)
Krystyna Wilkoszewska (Jagiellonian University, Poland)
Miško Suvakovic (University of Belgrade, Serbia)
Sanna Lehtinen (Aalto University/University of Helsinki, Finland)
Zoltan Somhegyi (Károli Gáspár University, Hungary)